Pre-departure butterflies and tips

Hej (Hello in Swedish). I have received compliments from my seniors, that they have rejoiced my first blog. It was like a time machine reading their minds a few years back; all the worries that floated in their cranium, having sleeping sickness syndrome without the tsetse bite, the anxiety and worry in the last few days at home. I think a few tips should bring down most pre-departure blues for my new friends.

Firstly all new students should try to learn some basic Swedish words to help themselves. So my friends, a word of caution!! Spare some time to memorize a few words or atleast be perfect with sign language (All the best if the opposite person doesn´t understand you) or be prepared to land up at the wrong place after a merry go round around Skovde!! It´s not just a matter of helping ourselves, but also a humble way to express our positive feelings towards Swedish culture. It´s always fun to learn new languages and hearing the various pronunciations is all the more fun. Once I had encountered a funny incidence. A non-English speaking international student wanted to go to the university, but rather landed up in market place (where I met him asking for directions in sign language with the newly purchased map). Don´t be a language puzzle for others. Presently I am trying my hand at learning Swedish language, but to be honest it´s really damn confusing to learn without any proper guidance. There are so many synonyms for each English word. It´s really difficult to make out which word is to be used when and in which context. But it?s truly a mellifluous language.

Last time I had mentioned about a becoming a live mummy. Here are some quick tips to be a normal human in the newly exposed subzero temperatures. Layering of clothes is an easy way to keep yourself warm. Try eating finely grinned red chilly and garlic {Keep a mouth freshener if you don´t want others to faint }. Your ear color density will indicate that you are heating up quickly and steadily. Don?t try this if you have budding peptic ulcers. It´s a real hell when the gastric juices decide to pierce your own stomach lining. Another way out is to dance out to your favourite songs or play kusti {an Indian wrestling sport} with your buddies. If you are alone {come on I don´t want anyone like that, life is fun-learning with pales} is to play football with a fully blown balloon. Believe me it really worked for me that too within ten minutes. So please pack a small packet of balloons along with your luggage. Start your shopping well in advance to avoid any eleventh hour marathon {I should practice it before preaching , haven´t started any shopping as yet}. I have seen beautiful photos of snow-laden Sweden. ). This I guess should be the most important tip to save your skeleton anatomy from collapsing. Please get good quality spiked sole shoes, so as not to ice-skate instead of walking.

This is going to be my first international experience and so must it be for many. It´s really making my brain work harder and look out for every possible way to make my stay a memorable and happy experience with my all new friends. The count down has finally begun ?? gear up buddies??gear up!! We still have a long journey to cover.


Comments
Postat av: nice one

hi namita ,

ur tips are very
helpful.

2007-12-18 @ 19:20:55
Postat av: Namita

Hhhmmm..Sounds good..Thanks

2007-12-28 @ 12:51:17
Postat av: rohit kulkarni

hi namita ,

if possible please mala tuza mail id de.looking forword to your mail. thanks

2008-02-04 @ 13:36:22

Comment the post:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0