I can speak foreignish I!

I am going to write this post in English, or atleast something so similar to English that someone that speaks English will be able to read it. I read on a site for linguistic curiosities about a sign someone found in Mexico: Broken English spoken fluently! A wonderful sign, I almost wished I made that sign myself. The reason for this outrageous behavior (changing language in the middle of the blog) is that I am doing my best to hit two birds with one stone.

The first bird I am trying to slay is actually the school. I really do enjoy playing with this analogy, but even if it sounds like I am holding a grudge, I am not. I was asked to translate one of my posts, and since that sounded too boring, I thought I might as well write in English to begin with. The second bird is that I would like to send a small message to a nice very couple I met in Jordan on the mine action course.

Even though I got back to Sweden more than a week ago, my e-mail inbox is still cluttered with all kinds of stuff that I need to take care of. I envy those who get spam ? spam can easily be removed by a mouse click ? the scary e-mails are those you really need to do something about. ?Register for examination!?, ?Hand in your essay!? or perhaps ?Have you started thinking about your final thesis??. A small, yet cold, shiver runs down my spine. The most disturbing thing in all this is that these are just the issues that common enough among the students to deserve an email. I am confident that there is a lot of stuff that only affects me, and sadly I don't have my own automated e-mail reminder system. Well, I don't think I have forgotten about something that is important, and until proven otherwise, I am innocent.

It seems like it is getting colder and darker by the day now. During the early spring media is hyped on all kinds of signs of the coming spring, but I thought I would try the opposite. I have stumbled upon a few flowers that are defying the coming winter, and I thought I would reward their effort by making them blossom on my blog. All three pictures are taken on campus. On more than one occasion I am accused of noticing odd details, but I hope you enjoy these.



Whenever it is hard to determine how big things are in a photo it is common to add something as a scale. On CSI they put an L-shaped ruler and here in Sweden it is common to include a box of matches. Since I think these objects are far to boring, I use a small toy instead, a small walrus figure I got from a man with a large beard. (Not Santa Claus). Here are some examples: Next to a scary spider on my floor, in a crater from a AT mine, on the lid of my food for tomorrow and hugged by a koala bear on a rock in Petra. (Thanks M and J for the koala!)



That was all, now I am going back to writing in Swedish. Take care!

//Valross

Comments
Postat av: Netza

haha...skrattar åt valross-bilderna...trots spindeln!!

2007-10-24 @ 18:18:22
URL: http://www.netza.se/blog
Postat av: P.S.

Three pictures??? I can see four... (or eight if you count them all...)

2007-10-24 @ 21:53:58
Postat av: Valross

Hmmm... you have a point there, but I can hardly correct it now that you have commented on it, can I? :)

2007-10-25 @ 17:18:15
Postat av: Christoffer

Noticing odd details is a good and fun thing. I do that too, sometimes, but maybe not enough.

Speaking of three, or, uhm four, pictures. See URL below.

Capition: "Someone should work on their math before they work on their grammar." ;)

2007-10-29 @ 08:56:22
URL: http://www.oomsa.com/files/admin/5_23.jpg

Comment the post:

Name:
Remember me?

E-mail: (will not be published)

URL/Blog:

Comments:

Trackback
RSS 2.0